The hell with it, let’s go flying

Flying is within our grasp. We have naught to do but take it. ~Charles Duryea

My aviation pursuits have taken substantial damage of late. I’m on fire, my airframe is failing, and the ground is rising and twisting to smack me out of the air for good.

Time to bail out and start from scratch.

Mikoyan-Gurevich MiG-29S (9-13S), Russia - Air Force AN0196348
BAIL OUT!


My flying budget was eviscerated by my student loans. To add insult to injury mysterious hiring policy changes at the FAA effectively killed my career prospects in air traffic control. I’m right back where I started, only now I’m yoked to the bank until I die.

But all is not lost. It’s just time for a change of strategy. I think it’s time to stop fighting it so hard and just roll with the resources I have. I have some amazingly supportive family and friends. I have a career that can pay the bills and I have a deep seated love of flight. These are all good things. With some good thinking and good luck, I can rearrange my life so that I can afford to fly a few times a month. I think that would be far more beneficial for me than banging my head against the career wall indefinitely.

It’s time to pursue a life free of ambition and the chains that it brings. It’s time to relax, surround myself with good people, and go flying when I can. I may not be able to make a living with it, but maybe that’s for the best. I can enjoy it for what it is and not feel the stress that flying for a living brings. I can let work be work and play be play and improve my quality of life all around.

The plane of my ambitions may be on fire and screeching to a rude meeting with terra firma. But I will survive. As long as this parachute doesn’t fail I’ll live to fly again another day.

9 thoughts on “The hell with it, let’s go flying

  1. I’ve followed your journey as of late and can’t imagine how frustrated you must be. With that said, I do believe in that old saying, “If there’s a will there’s a way” and it sounds like you’re determined to figure it out in positive way. It’s inspiring to see you get back up so quickly after taking such a big hit.

    • Thank you Nick! I really appreciate that. It’s hard to keep a positive outlook, but letting the short-term defeats affect my long-term happiness would be bad for me. I appreciate the kind words!

  2. Good on ya for taking a positive attitude toward a lousy turn on the road of life! As someone who flies professionally, I can see the positive side of flying “for fun” rather than doing it to earn a living. Don’t get me wrong — I love my job and wouldn’t trade it for anything, but I’ve been very fortunate and I see lots of working pilots for whom the spark seems to be dimmed, if not gone altogether.

    Besides, you can always do things that are professional and earn you money without doing it for a living. Instructing part-time, for example. There’s an entire world of flying out there. You never know what you’ll come across. šŸ™‚

  3. Ben with your writing and photographic skills I would think you could get a writing job with someone. I’m glad you have decided to reorganize and am sure you will find a way into aviation. Never give up! Are you still planning to go to AirVenture?

    • Thanks Mike!

      I’m hoping to make it to Airventure this year. It may be a little sketchy, depending on my work and general living situations, but I do hope to make it for at least part of the show.

  4. I’m so glad to hear your spirit is ‘bent, not broken’. The brief silence of late was a little worrying… I’ve gotta say, your attitude to all this is really refreshing; I often feel like a relaxed, positive approach is a good way to go. I read a quote the other day that said something like “If you stop chasing all the wrong things so hard, you’ll give all the right things a chance to catch you up.” I hope that’s how it works out for you. All the best, Foxx

Leave a Reply

