Aviation Photo of the Day: Skywagon on floats!

Today’s selection: a Cessna Skywagon on floats!

Skywagon on floats!

Skywagon on floats!

Amphibious aircraft have always had a special place in my heart. The ability to go from pavement and hangars to water and trees has always seemed to me to encapsulate the spirit of flying.

Maybe I’m a Class-G guy living in a Class-B world, but I don’t fly for the technology. I don’t fly for the glass panel or the pilot image. I don’t fly for ADS-B or for moving maps or 300 knots at 20,000 feet. I fly for the freedom. I believe that the essence of general aviation is a biplane in a barn. I believe that the spirit of flight is wheels on grass or floats on water.

Don’t get me wrong. I love the technology, and I am inspired by the feats of engineering that have enabled some of the more modern airplanes to do what they do. I appreciate that the advances in technology have made flying safer and simpler than it ever was in the mean old days.

It’s just that somewhere deep inside me, and I can’t help but think that deep in the heart of every aviator, there is a desire to get out and land an open-cockpit biplane on a grassy field…or a classic floatplane on a remote lake.

 

Leave a Reply

