Random Photos: Lake Geneva and KMSN

A blast from the past: took this photo on my flight from Schaumburg to Madison last summer. I’ve been meaning to get back to Madison but my flying budget of late has enabled only sporadic flights in the local area.

20130221-164022.jpg

The trip to Madison is pretty nice. Once you get out of the Mode C veil around O’Hare, it’s mostly cornfields and farms, with the odd grass airstrip passing under your wings. I tracked the JVL VOR and then turned towards the MSN VOR. I could use GPS, but VOR’s are fun too…

Madison has a neat mix of traffic. I saw scheduled airliners, ANG F-16’s, Black Hawks, and what looked like two-seat F-5 trainers on the ramp. Correct me if I’m wrong on that.

20130221-164351.jpg

In addition to all that, Madison has a great airport restaurant at the FBO. Pat O’Malley’s Jet Room is a great place for a huge cheeseburger, or if you’re not into cholesterol like I am, I think they have salads. They also make a mean strawberry shortcake…

With any luck, my aviation fund will see an increase soon and I’ll be able to get a few more cross-countries under my belt.

Leave a Reply

