“You can always tell when a man’s lost his soul to flying…”

You can always tell when a man’s lost his soul to flying. The poor bastard is hopelessly committed to stopping whatever he is doing long enough to look up and make sure the aircraft purring overhead continues on course and does not suddenly fall out of the sky. It is also his bound duty to watch every aircraft within view take off and land.

~ Ernest K. Gann, Fate Is the Hunter

This describes me to a T. I will stop whatever I’m doing – driving, crossing the road, CPR – in order to scope out an interesting airplane.

Gann’s book is on my aviation short list. I’ve been told it is a must-read for aviators.

2 thoughts on ““You can always tell when a man’s lost his soul to flying…”

  1. Ben,

    When I travel for work, I hunt out the small local airports with my scanner and camera. I am not a pilot, yet…. but it’s on my bucket list.

    I’ve got KCXO just a few miles from me and I get planes flying overhead all the time when I’m working outside.

    *sigh*

    • I do the same thing. I’ll check skyvector.com to see what’s around me, bring my little radio and camera, and just sit back and watch. I once got the gate code for an airport in FL, and I would sit under a tree by the taxiway for hours and watch the planes go by.

      Good luck whenever you start flying!

Leave a Reply

