Tragedy Strikes the Liberty Foundation

The Liberty Foundation is a nonprofit group dedicated to keeping old warbirds flying, including a beautifully restored B-17 and a P-40 fighter.

Today, tragedy struck when the B-17’s number two engine caught fire after takeoff. The pilot was able to ditch the plane safely in a field in Auruora, Illinois, and all pax and crew escaped safely. Sadly, the plane was consumed by fire after the landing. Scuttlebutt has it that the fuel line may have been leaking…

This makes me very sad. I have a love for Warbirds, especially WWII era aircraft. My grandfather flew C-47’s over the hump and instructed in B-25’s stateside during the great war. Apart from that, I just love the look and feel of those old warplanes. Seeing a B-17, one of only a dozen still flying, consumed by flames in a field makes me want to cry.

I don’t have any idea what the Liberty Foundation plans to do, and it seems that their website is down. But I’ll be doing some research, and if I find any way that normal folks like us can help, I’ll be sure to put it up here.

My condolences to the Liberty Foundation. I’m glad everybody was ok, but I am saddened by the loss of this majestic and historic airplane.

Leave a Reply

